Adding Multiple Values to Radio Buttons

Erika in Glasses
2 min readOct 27, 2016

Last week, on Wednesday, we hit the half way point for the bootcamp. We also started working with APIs. And continued working with JavaScript.

For my project, I wanted to use the LCBO API to sort out what beer people should take camping based on the chocolate type. But I ran into a couple issues with lagers begin returned the most, they take up about 80% of the results on the first page. I worked out how to get the first three pages to load, which helped a lot, but still left me with 20+ results for lagers and 4 for ciders.

I decided to change how I was planning to match the chocolate types to beer types and went with matching to the style value, not the beer type. But it was formatted as “one & two” for each beer. So I split this into three parts, and ran what the user selects against object 0 or object 2.

for (var i = 0; i < beerApp.preferredStyle.length; i = i + 1){
if (beerApp.preferredStyle[i] === brokenStyle[2] ||
beerApp.preferredStyle[i] === brokenStyle[0]){
return beerResults;
}
}

See the code in action:

But this meant I had way too many buttons and still limited results for certain selections. I started wondering how you could add multiple values to one radio button, so that it would return results that match either of options.

--

--

Erika in Glasses

Web developer. Twitch Affiliate (erikainglasses). Youtuber. Olympic lifter. I write about code and streamer.